Food Wars! Anime First Impression

“Food Wars! centres on Yukihira Soma, a middle school student who is determined to surpass his father’s culinary skills. One day, his father decides to close down their family restaurant and hone his skills in Europe. Before leaving he enrols Soma in an elite culinary school that is extremely difficult to enter with a graduation rate of only 10 percent.”

If you’re not a fan of anime then this post probably isn’t going to be for you…However! You should 100% go check out this anime because maybe you’ll realise that it’s the best, weirdest, funniest thing you’ve ever seen and then you’ll love it forever. Because honestly I think this show would be able to do that for some people.

Anyway, on with the first impressions.

Going into the first episode of this show I wasn’t expecting a lot from it, it sounded super weird and strange and I wasn’t sure I was going to like it. But holy shit! It’s so good. The comedic atmosphere the show has is amazing, the jokes are well timed and executed extremely well, the visuals and style of the anime are also pretty on point.

Reading the description, it sounds like a super boring, run of the mill anime about a kid trying to impress his father by showing him he can graduate from this amazingly difficult school. But wait! Because there is so much more to this anime than just that. First of all, Yukihira’s cooking is so good that it causes people to go into an orgasmic state full of flavour and amazing-ness. (Did I mention this anime was super weird.) Like that’s literally how the first episode starts. The first episode has such an amazing introduction for a character, it shows Yukihira cooking something that looks awful (and would probably be seen on a Pinterest board somewhere.) and then asking someone to eat it after losing a cook-off to his dad, however instead of the person loving what he’s made they hate it and it shows the most disgusting visual representation of how she’s feeling and it’s amazing, also slightly creepy. But honestly I think that this show does an amazing job at showing you how the food tastes, how to makes people feel, which is great because for an anime about food I think it’d be super difficult and boring to just show a plate of delicious food and then have a character be like “すごい” (“awesome”) so I think it does a fantastic job at visually representing the characters feelings towards the food.

If I had to give this anime a rating….so far it’d be a solid 8/10. Like I laughed so much at the first episode of an anime and I usually don’t do that, I usually have to give it like 2-3 episodes before I’m actually attached to a character and laughing at their jokes, but this one just does it so well. I don’t think this anime takes itself ridiculously serious so if you’re looking for something to just chill out to maybe even cheer you up then this is the one you need to check out.

I feel like I was all over the place with this First Impression post but I’m gonna get better the more I do it! I’m still trying to find my voice, but I’m slowly getting there. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this, if you have any anime or T.V shows you’d like to recommend to me for a first impressions then please leave me a comment, because I’m always looking for stuff to watch.

If you’d like to check out Food Wars then please head over to Crunchyroll.

I hope you all have an amazing day!

(If you haven’t already, please go check out my Patreon at patreon.com/mclen, It’s a great way to show support and for me to be able to grow as a blog 🙂 )

3 thoughts on “Food Wars! Anime First Impression

  1. Pingback: Friday Round Up |

Leave a Reply

